Lesson 4 - The New Testament


The Bible has two main parts. The first part is called the Old Testament. The second part is the New Testament. The New Testament contains 27 books. It begins with Matthew and ends with Revelation. These books were written by 8 men. These men wrote what God told them to write. The New Testament books were written in the Greek language. Later the New Testament books were translated into other languages. The New Testament is divided into 4 main sections. These sections are: The Gospels, History, Epistles, and Prophecy.

The Gospels

The first 4 books of the New Testament (Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John) are called the gospels. The word "gospel" means "good news." These books tell us the good news of the coming of Christ to save man from his sins. These books also tell us of the birth, life, teachings, death, burial, and resurrection of Christ. The authors of the gospels are the same as the title of each book.


The book of history in the New Testament is Acts of the Apostles. It is often called the book of Acts. This book was written by Luke. It tells of the beginning of Christ’s church in Acts, chapter 2. Throughout the rest of the book, it tells how the church spread throughout the world. Acts tells many things that Peter and Paul did.

The book of Acts also tells and shows us how people became Christians. Acts is often called the book of conversions. This is because it has so many examples of people being converted to Christ. The following verses are examples of how people became Christians. You should study them carefully.


The word "epistle" means "letter." There are 21 epistles in the New Testament. The epistles of the New Testament can be divided into 2 groups: the Epistles of Paul and the General Epistles. The apostle Paul wrote 13 of the 21 epistles. They are: Romans, 1 and 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 and 2 Thessalonians, 1 and 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon. Paul’s epistles were written to individual persons and some to certain churches. Here is a brief summary of each book that Paul wrote:

James; 1 and 2 Peter; 1, 2, and 3 John; Jude: These books are called the General Epistles. Each book is named after its author. Here is a brief summary of each book:


The book of Revelation is a book of prophecy. It was written by John. It tells us about the things that "must shortly take place." Revelation is written in symbolic language. Most of Revelation should not be interpreted as it is stated. A person must understand what the symbols mean. Only then can he interpret it properly. Also, many of the things mentioned have already happened.

Student Information

  1. Name: 
  2. Email Address: 
  3. I am a Male Female
  4. Age: 
  5. City: 
  6. State: 
  7. Country: 
  8. Bible Teacher:


  1. The New Testament contains books.
  2. The book of Acts tells us and shows us how people became .
  3. was written in symbolic language.
  4. The word "epistle" means .
  5. The 4 sections of the New Testament are , , and .
  6. The book of shows we are saved by faith.
  7. The word "gospel" means .
  8. and were two young preachers to whom Paul wrote.
  9. The New Testament begins with the book of and ends with the book of .
  10. The apostle Paul wrote of the 21 epistles.
  11. 15 men wrote the New Testament. True False
  12. The first New Testament was written in English. True False
  13. Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John are called the gospels. True False
  14. The book of history in the New Testament is Acts of the Apostles. True False
  15. Acts is often called the book of conversions. True False
  16. There are 21 epistles in the New Testament. True False
  17. The book of Galatians was written while Paul was in prison. True False
  18. 2 Peter gives much warning against false teachers. True False
  19. The book of Revelation is a book of prophecy. True False
  20. Many of the things mentioned in Revelation have already happened. True False
  21. Questions or Comments:

Many thanks to "Truth for the World" for allowing us to use their material!